Today on my twice-weekly (sometimes … ahem … more) trip to Whole Foods, I think I succumbed to gullibility.  No, I didn’t opt for the organic walnuts over the regular ones.  But right by the meat counter, I was approached by a man who, while not poorly dressed, was missing teeth and was also clearly missing even a distant relationship with deodorant and/or soap and/or water.  He held a ragged brochure for a charity walk to combat Pancreatic Cancer; said walk is scheduled for this September.  He claimed he was trying to raise money and had lost a loved one to the disease.  Hmmm.  Written on the tattered paper were a few unintelligible first names and cash pledges – $20, $10, $5, etc.  I mentioned that I had very little cash, but gave him what I had (literally, $2).  He thanked me profusely and went on his way.

While I can’t imagine that Whole Foods management would tolerate solicitation of any kind within its walls (even if his “charity walk” story was on the up and up), there he was and there I was and I do believe I just gave $2 to a panhandler.  But I’m really okay with it.  That $2 would have gone toward lunchtime sushi or a post-work martini or something similarly frivolous, and I gotta give the guy credit for at least showing some ingenuity.  Tracking down a cancer-walk sponsorship form and developing a sob story … well played.Way better effort than the guys just shaking a Dunkin Donuts cup while chain smoking Marlboro Reds.

Unless of course everything  – the walk, the lost loved one, the pledges – WAS true and now instead of being gullible, I’m reverse-gullible, which is to say, totally jaded.

